Meet the Board

SEI Board Members are elected on an annual basis in the beginning of fall (September/October). All SEI members are encouraged to write their name in to be on the ballot. There are no specific requirements to entering the ballot other than having a membership. Additional information (including board member position descriptions) can be found in the SEI Maryland Bylaws

If you would like to contact a specific board member, please email us at and address the email to whom you wish to speak with. We are always looking for ideas and other feedback to make SEI Maryland a successful National local chapter.

PRESIDENT - Micah Ceary, P.E. DBIA

Dr. Ceary is the Director of Structural Engineering and Associate with Brudis & Associates Inc. (BAI). He possesses over 19 years of structural engineering experience with a focus on structural engineering design, analysis and inspection of various types of structures. He specializes in the design, rehabilitation, condition inspection, and load ratings of steel and concrete highway bridges for grade separations and stream crossings; alternative bridge studies and bridge widening projects. He currently holds Professional Engineering Licenses from the states of MD, DE, VA, and the District of Columbia. He has a Ph.D. and M.S. degree in Structural Engineering from University of Maryland, where his dissertation focused on the Characterization of Delayed Ettringite Formation in Maryland Bridges.

VICE PRESIDENT – Dr. Jason Charalambides, P.E., R.A.

Dr. Charalambides is a registered architect, civil engineer, and sustainability professional ENV_SP in Europe and in the US. He established Avant-Garde Engineering LLC as a consulting firm and he engages in project design and research. He is also an Assistant Professor in the Department of Architecture at Morgan State University, teaching courses in Steel Design, Reinforced Concrete Design, Masonry, and Architectural Design Studio. Jason possesses a Master of Architecture and a PhD in Civil Engineering from the University of Texas at Austin, where he taught structural design for a number of years. The subject of his doctorate dissertation was on the design automation for Tensegrity structures. Jason is involved in a number of professional organizations, including ASCE, SEI, ISI, and AIA, and has experience as part of the SEI-MD board in the past. He serves on the ASCE/SEI code committee and is an associate editor for the ASCE Journal of Architectural Engineering.

SECRETARY - Shayan Amin, P.E.

Shayan is a Maryland PE with over 7 years of diverse structural engineering experience working in a variety of industries and sectors, and has had the opportunity to work on a wide range of structural engineering projects including bridge design and rehabilitation, structural preservation of existing building structures, and analysis of telecommunications structures.

Shayan works as a structural engineer and building envelope consultant with Gale Associates, Inc. located in Towson, MD where he specializes in structural evaluation and rehabilitation of existing building structures, facades, and building enclosure components.

Shayan graduated from The Pennsylvania State University in 2012 with a B.S. in Civil Engineering (structural focus), and from Johns Hopkins University in 2018 with a Master of Civil Engineering with a focus on structural and preservation engineering.

TREASURER – Isaiah Sampson, E.I.T

Isaiah is a structural engineer at Moffatt & Nichol, with 3 years of experience in the design of marine structures, including public and private marine terminals, in-water foundation for transmission structures, and vessel collision protection structures. Isaiah holds a M.S. degree in Civil Engineering from Johns Hopkins University.

PAST PRESIDENT - Mehedi Rashid, P.E., S.E.

Mehedi is a Senior Structural Engineer and Project Manager with Moffatt and Nichol (M&N) Engineers. He possesses over 19 years of structural engineering experience with a focus on structural analysis, design and construction support services for large scale/complex civil infrastructure projects that include port and marine structures, highway and light rail bridges, offshore wind turbine foundation systems, offshore structures, etc. Mr. Rashid serves as a voting member in various technical committees including Pile Design Committee, Pile Producers Committee for the Precast/Prestressed Concrete Institute (PCI), and the ASCE 7-22 cycle code committee. He attained his Master of Science in Structural Engineering from South Dakota School of Mine & Tech (SDSM&T) and Bachelor of Science in Civil Engineering from Bangladesh University of Engineering and Tech. He is a Licensed Professional Engineer (PE) in ten different states and a Licensed Structural Engineer (SE) in the states of Washington, Illinois and Massachusetts.

Committee Leaders:

  • Meeting Coordination & Topic Research - Micah Ceary / Shayan Amin

  • Activities - Micah Ceary / Shayan Amin

  • Sponsorship, Web & Technologies - Isaiah Sampson / Shayan Amin